The Reading Order

41 Novels Over 32 Years

Terry Pratchett’s renowned Discworld series consists of an impressive 41 novels crafted over 32 year.

The Discworld itself has evolved into one of the most intricately detailed and imaginative fantasy realms in literary history. While each story can be enjoyed independently, for a comprehensive exploration of Discworld, we have crafted a helpful guide to assist you in planning your journey.

In Chronological Order

One approach is to read the novels in the order of their publication. By following this path, readers can witness the unfolding saga as it was originally presented, providing a purist’s perspective and allowing insight into Terry’s evolving structure, voice, and tone throughout his career. Readers who opt for this method should be aware that although some of Terry’s finest work was produced in the earlier books, the tone of Discworld and its characters undergo rapid changes. Terry, when crafting The Colour of Magic in 1983, might have seemed overly optimistic to anticipate 40 bestselling sequels.

1. The Colour of Magic
2. The Light Fantastic
3. Equal Rites
4. Mort
5. Sourcery
6. Wyrd Sisters
7. Pyramids
8. Guards! Guards!
9. Faust Eric
10. Moving Pictures

11. Reaper Man
12. Witches Abroad
13. Small Gods
14. Lords and Ladies
15. Men at Arms
16. Soul Music
17. Interesting times
18. Maskerade
19. Feet of Clay
20. Hogfather

21. Jingo
22. The Last Continent
23. Carpe Jugulum
24. The Fifth Elephant
25. The Truth
26. Thief of Time
27. The Last Hero
28. The Amazing Maurice And His Educated Rodents
29. Night Watch
30. The Wee Free Men

31. Monstrous Regiment
32. A Hat Full of Sky
33. Going Postal
34. Thud!
35. Wintersmith
36. Making Money
37. Unseen Academicals
38. I Shall Wear Midnight
39. Snuff
40. Raising Steam
41. The Shepherd’s Crown

Paperback, Hardbacks & Collector’s Library